The CBS Calendar is a simplified ‘Ordo’ – Liturgical Calendar, for the episcopal territories of England and Wales, Scotland and Ireland. Not all saints’ days are observed with the same status in each country.
To make things a little easier, you can click on the country of your choice for the month’s calendar:

(A full liturgical calendar is available from

Generally, the prominence of the celebration is as follows,

  1. Sunday and Feasts of the Lord
  2. Holydays of Obligation
  3. Solemnities
  4. Feasts
  5. Memorials
  6. Optional Memorials and Saturday memorials of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

  • Only celebrations 1, 2 and 3 can take place on Sundays.
  • During Lent, memorials are kept as commemorations
  • During Holy Week and the Easter Octave, solemnities are transferred to the first available weekday after the Octave.
  • During Advent, Lent and Eastertide, if a solemnity occurs on a Sunday, it is transferred to the following Monday e.g. The Immaculate Conception.
  • Saturday memorials of the Blessed Virgin Mary are only celebrated when there is no other Memorial to be celebrated.

The patronal title of each parish is celebrated as a solemnity and if there are two patrons, for example SS John and James, both are kept as solemnities.